Broadband leaving us
You can leave at any time, either by ceasing the service with us, ceasing the phone line / copper pair which causes the broadband service to cease, or migrating away to another provider. If you leave us within the minimum term for your service there is an early termination charge which applies for each broadband line for the remainder of the term. This depends on the tariff and service. On our units based tariff (and older tariffs) if you cease a line rather than migrating away there is also a cease charge (£30).
Early termination charges
If you cease or migrate service within the minimum term then an early termination charge applies.
The charge applies to each broadband service line separately, and is a charged for the period from the cease/migrate date to the end of the minimum term. The minimum term is worked out from the line's install date on a per line basis (or the date of an upgrade to FTTC/FTTP).
Home::1 has a simple 6 month initial term (12 month for 1TB VDSL) and then ongoing contract. There is no cease charge. The early termination charge is £15 pcm for ADSL and £20 pcm for FTTC/FTTP.
Home::1 has a simple 6 month initial term (12 month for 2TB VDSL) and then ongoing contract. There is no cease charge. The early termination charge is £20 pcm for ADSL and £30 pcm for FTTC/FTTP.
Office::1 has a simple 12 month initial term and then ongoing contract. There is no cease charge. The early termination charge is £75 pcm.
Note that we don't do Office::1 without at least two broadband lines, or where we are not providing the copper pair for the broadband lines. Ceasing or migrating a service below this level will be taken as a request to cease the entire service.
Our flexible units tariffs have a 1 month term for ADSL and 12 month term for FTTC/FTTP lines. There is also a cease charge of £30 if ceasing rather than migrating away. The early termination charge is £10 pcm for ADSL and £20 pcm for FTTC/FTTP for the remaining period.
Older tariffs are out of any minimum term, and simply have a charge of £30 if ceasing rather than transferring away.
You can transfer your service to a new provider if you wish. Contact the new provider, and they can start the process. It takes 10 working days at least. We will receive a notice and send you an email to confirm. If you change your mind you can contact the new provider to cancel the transfer. The email we send also contains links that allow you to ask us to cancel the transfer, as well as details of any early termination charges that apply.
Billing continues as normal until the transfer is complete, at which point you are charged any early termination charges and credited for any service already invoiced beyond the transfer date.
Note that we only provide copper pair (telephone line) services for use with broadband. If you transfer broadband you will have to ensure you also transfer the copper pair as well as otherwise it will be ceased and that will stop your broadband working even after it has transferred.
To cease service you simply request this on the broadband order pages (use the "Order Now" button below). If a cease charge applies, it is billed as part of the order. There is no other change to billing at the point you place the order, and you can pick a date in the future. Once the cease completes you will receive a bill or credit to adjust your service billing to the actual date the service ceased/transferred, plus a charge for any early termination fee.
Disconnecting your phone line
Ceasing the associated copper pair / phone line causes a cease of the broadband line. Once the cease completes you will receive a bill or credit to adjust your service billing to the actual date the service ceased/migrated, plus a charge for any early termination fee or cease fee that applies.
If we are providing a telephone service with your broadband service then this will be ceased when you leave unless you first arrange for it to be taken over by a new provider. Contact your new provider to arrange this before ceasing service as it will stop your new broadband working.
Mistake ceasing a phone line
Occasionally a phone line is ceased by mistake and the broadband line ends up being ceased. This can be a mistake by a customer, or BT, or other phone line reseller. When this happens the cease charge and any early termination fee is charged as normal. Typically you want the service reinstated in such cases and that means the normal install charge as well, and if you ask for it, an expensive expedite charge as well. If the cease was a mistake by a third party such as BT you are obviously able to try and recover these charges from the third party. Either way, you need to pay us the charges that apply, sorry.
The current process for transfer of broadband or phone line / copper pair works by simply contacting the new provider and asking them to take over the service. Some customers have concerns that this can happen by mistake or because someone maliciously requests a transfer (slamming). Obviously we send a notice if a transfer is requested, but we appreciate that this could easily be missed or ignored in error. We do offer an option to allow you to tell us in advance that you are not migrating - an anti-slamming service. If you have told us to consider any transfer to be slamming we will reject the transfer (and advise you by email). You can enable or disable anti-slamming at any time on a per-line basis from the control pages.